2018 Final Records

Thank you to the teams & sponsors for making the 2018 First Bank Classic a big success! We look forward to seeing you in Lubbock in 2019.

Most Valuable Player
Bobby Witt (Junior, Colleyville Heritage)

All Tournament Team
Nicholas Balsano (Junior, Colleyville Heritage)
Noey Brito (Sophomore, Odessa Permian)
Isaih Campa (Senior, El Paso Socorro)
Dakota Champagne (Senior, Frenship)
Caylor Dannevik (Junior, Lubbock Monterey)
Connor Denham (Senior, Lubbock Cooper)
Julian Flores (Junior, Lubbock High)
Zavier Fuller (Junior, Burleson Centennial)
Julian Galindo (Senior, El Paso Americas)
Carson Hauk (Senior, Plainview)
Hunter Jones (Junior, Waco Midway)
Ivan Melendez (Senior, El Paso Coronado)
Hunter Nelson (Senior, Lubbock Cooper)
Esteban Ramos (Junior, El Paso El Dorado)
Bo Sims (Senior, Lubbock Estacado)
Zack Swindell (Junior, Lubbock Coronado)

Tournament History

The FirstBank Classic, originally known as the Lubbock Invitational, has been hosted by the Lubbock ISD baseball programs for 33 years, beginning in
Known as the Lubbock Invitational until 1994, the tournament name changed to the Kal Segrist Classic to honor former Texas Tech head baseball coach until
The 2018 tournament is the 17th consecutive year the tournament has been known as the FirstBank Classic. FirstBank & Trust became the title sponsor in
Twelve of 16 high school baseball teams, including five Lubbock-area schools, competing in the FirstBank Classic this year were in UIL state playoffs in the spring season of

Schedule & Scores


Thursday, March 8 through Saturday, March 10, 2018

Entry Fees

Adult Tournament Pass: $15
Student Tournament Pass: $10
Adult Day Pass: $6
Student Day Pass: $4

Kal Segrist Award

Award Background

Kal Segrist was a true baseball pioneer and legend. After leading his Adamson High School team to two Texas State Championships, he helped lead the Texas Longhorns to a national title in 1950. After 11 years in professional baseball, Segrist arrived at Texas Tech University as an assistant coach and later served 16 seasons as the head coach of the Red Raiders. Thanks in large part to the work Segrist put in at Texas Tech, Lubbock, Texas is known today for it’s success developing baseball talent.   

The Kal Segrist Award is presented to an individual that has had a positive impact on Lubbock Youth Baseball. This person embodies the same work ethic and care that Segrist showed to baseball in Lubbock.


1999: Kal Segrist
2000: Bill Dean
2001: Jim Truett
2002: Bobby Moegle
2003: John Dudley
2004: James Webster
2005: Bobby Welch
2006: Ron Bartley
2007: Marylou Castilleja Reyna
2008: Cal Lowry
2009: Woody Van Dyke
2010: Mack Owen
2011: Wayne Ricketson
2012: AB Morris
2013: Barry Orr
2014: Bart Reagor
2015: Scott Gwinn
2016: Mike Gustafson
2017: Dr. E.C. Leslie and Dr. Tim Leslie
2018: Hub Crowell

"In order to excel, you must be completely dedicated to your chosen sport. You must also be prepared to work hard and be willing to accept constructive criticism. Without one-hundred percent dedication, you won't be able to do this."

–Willie Mays

Recommended Accommodations

Tournament Sponsors